Skip to main content

The Australian Guide to Healthy Eating shows the amount and types of food that kids should eat each day to help reach and maintain a healthy weight.  

By following the Australian Guide to Healthy Eating, kids will: 

  • Enjoy a wide variety of nutritious foods from the 5 food groups each day. 

  • Drink plenty of water. 

  • Limit food that has saturated fat, added salt, and sugars like soft drinks, chocolates and cakes.   

growing healthy kids in south west sydney


growing healthy kids in south west sydney

So, what is a serve?

So, what is a serve? Each food group has a different number of servings, and each type of food has different sizes which equal to one serve. Eat for Health has helped to break down what is a standard serve and what it looks like 

Eat For Health: Serve Sizes 


Taller or more active children may need extra serves from the five food groups.  It is also important to understand that children’s appetites can change from day to day. Some days they might want to eat more than usual; on other days they might not want to eat at all. This is normal and not a cause for concern. Moreover, when children do not want to eat, it is important not to force them. This helps to teach them to listen to their appetite.   

Check your child’s growth against the growth charts in their Blue Book or ask your GP to check your child's growth. Be sure to take their Blue Book with you.   

For further information on the Australian Dietary Guidelines, go to .  


[Source: NHMRC Eat for Health